Best Execution policy

 

1             Essentials

According to the guidelines of Directive 2004/39/EC ("MiFID") dated 21.04.2004, Article 28 of CSSF Regulation No. 10-4 dated 22.12.2010 and Article 27 of Delegated Regulation (EU) No. 231/2013 dated 19.12.2012, management companies and managers of alternative investment funds ("AIFM") are obliged to draw up a Best Execution Policy ("Policy") in order to achieve the best possible trading results for their clients. Furthermore, with consideration of "Directive" 2014/65/EU regarding "Markets in Financial Instruments" dated 15.05.2014 ("MiFID II") and "Regulation" (EU) No 600/2014 regarding "Markets in Financial Instruments" dated 15.05.2014 ("MiFIR"), since 03.01.2018 there has been an obligation to take certain regulations regarding "Best Execution" in consideration. Due to its business orientation, the company is not primarily affected by MiFID II / MiFIR. In order to document the procedures that have already been practiced, the company would nevertheless like to have a "Best Execution Policy”, which, however, can only have the character of a basic process description/documentation.

 

2             Outsourcing Concept

FERI Trust (Luxembourg) S.A. ("Company" or "FTL") manages undertakings for collective investment in transferable securities ("OGAW" or "UCITS") and alternative investment funds ("AIF"). As part of its strategic business organization, the Company has decided not to provide all management services itself but, for reasons of efficiency, to outsource certain business areas to highly specialized service providers. The aim is always to provide investors with the highest level of expertise and flexibility.

(1) Portfolio management is outsourced for all UCITS and some AIFs. In this context, orders are placed with the portfolio manager. In this case the traded assets are mostly represented on regulated markets by securities.

As part of the initial due diligence, portfolio managers are reviewed to see whether they are authorized to carry out the sourced activities and have appropriate regulatory prerequisites such as their own execution principles for executing orders in financial instruments with professional clients ("Best Execution Policy").

In addition, the existence of current execution principles is regularly reviewed as part of the ongoing due diligence of service providers in the role of portfolio managers.

(2) For certain AIFs, FTL performs the role of portfolio manager itself. These AIFs are funds that invest almost exclusively in private equity-, real estate- and hedge fund- target funds. These target funds are not traded on a regulated trading market but canonly be ordered at an unknown price (next NAV) or acquired via commitments. Therefore, there are no comparative prices on different trading venues.

 

3             FTL in the role of portfolio manager

For certain AIF, FTL, as an authorized AIFM, performs the role of portfolio manager. As mentioned above, the AIFs are funds that invest in private equity-, real estate- or hedge fund target funds. In principle, these target funds are not traded on a regulated trading market but can only be ordered at an unknown price (next NAV) or acquired through commitments. Comparative prices do therefore not exist at different trading venues.

Investment decisions for private equity- and real estate target funds are made in the context of an extensive due diligence process that often takes the time of several weeks or months. The main economic, regulatory, tax and contractual conditions and documents are examined together with external partners such as tax advisors, auditors, lawyers, etc. During the negotiation of contracts and at the end of the process these negotiations can result in individual agreements which are reflected, for example, in subscription documents, limited partnership agreements and/or side letters.

Investment decisions for individual target hedge funds are made by FTL after completion of an extensive due diligence process. This process extends over several weeks or months for each target fund. The relevant target hedge funds are usually so-called offshore funds. Often these feeder funds are domiciled on the Cayman Islands, which themselves invest in local master funds. Among other investors, US Institutional investors could also invest their capital in these master funds.

Due to the breadth of the investment universe, FTL relies on the support of external service providers. During the investment process, the essential investment strategic, economic, regulatory, contractual and, if applicable, tax law conditions and documents are examined by external partners, in particular the investment advisor, the depositary of the AIF and, if necessary, also by tax advisors or lawyers.

A best execution policy in the classical sense of regulated trading markets is not applicable to this type of investment.

 

4             Final Provisions

This Best Execution Policy of FTL must be reviewed regularly and adjusted accordingly in the event of changes to the basic facts described in sections 2 and 3. As part of the outsourcing controlling (Section 2 (1)), the existence of a current Best Execution Policy at the relevant service providers is monitored.

Feri Trust (Luxembourg) S.A.

flagge_luxemburg.jpg

Our office in Luxembourg

18, Boulevard de la Foire
L-1528 Luxembourg

p +352 270448-0
f +352 270448-729
info@feri.lu

Any more questions?

Contact Form

How to find us:

Directions

MORE FERI SITES

FERI AG
Our parent company in Germany.

FEREAL AG
Our affiliated company in Germany.

FERI (Schweiz) AG
Our affiliated company in Switzerland.

FERI Cognitive Finance Institute
Think Tank of FERI for strategic topics and recommendations for investors.

Best Execution policy

 

1             Grundlagen

Gemäß den Vorgaben der Richtlinie 2004/39/EG („MiFID“) vom 21.04.2004, des Artikel 28 der CSSF Verordnung Nr. 10-4 vom 22.12.2010 und des Artikel 27 der Delegierten Verordnung (EU) Nr. 231/2013 vom 19.12.2012 sind Verwaltungsgesellschaften bzw. Manager Alternativer Investmentfonds („AIFM“) verpflichtet, eine Best Execution Policy („Policy“) aufzustellen, um im Interesse ihrer Kunden bestmögliche Handelsergebnisse zu erzielen. Darüber hinaus besteht im Hinblick auf die „Directive“ 2014/65/EU bzgl. der „Markets in Financial Instruments“ vom 15.05.2014 („MiFID II“) und der „Regulation“ (EU) No 600/2014 der „Markets in Financial Instruments“ vom 15.05.2014 („MiFIR“) seit dem 03.01.2018 u.a. die Pflicht zur Beachtung bestimmter Regularien bzgl. „Best Execution“. Die Gesellschaft ist aufgrund ihrer Geschäftsausrichtung primär von MiFID II / MiFIR nicht betroffen. Zwecks Dokumentation der bisher bereits schon praktizierten Prozeduren möchte sich die Gesellschaft der guten Ordnung halber dennoch eine „Best Execution Policy“ geben, die aber nur den Charakter einer grundsätzlichen Prozeßbeschreibung/-dokumentation haben kann.

 

2             Konzept der Auslagerung

Die Feri Trust (Luxembourg) S.A. („Gesellschaft“ bzw. „FTL“) betreibt die Verwaltung von Organismen für die gemeinsame Anlage in Wertpapieren („OGAW“ bzw. „UCITS“) sowie Alternative Investment Fonds („AIF“). Im Rahmen ihrer strategischen Geschäftsorganisation hat sich die Gesellschaft entschlossen, nicht alle Verwaltungsleistungen selbst zu erbringen, sondern aus Gründen der Effizienz bestimmte Geschäftsbereiche auf hochspezialisierte Dienstleister auszulagern. Damit soll Anlegern stets ein Höchstmaß an Knowhow bei gleichzeitig großer Flexibilität geboten werden.

(1)          Für sämtliche UCITS und einige AIF ist das Portfoliomanagement ausgelagert. In diesem Zusammenhang wird die Ordererteilung bei dem Portfoliomanager ausgeführt. Hier werden insbesondere solche Vermögensgegenstände gehandelt, welche über Wertpapiere zumeist an geregelten Märkten repräsentiert sind.

Im Rahmen der einleitenden Geeignetheitsprüfung werden die Portfoliomanager dahingehend überprüft, ob diese für die auszuführenden Tätigkeiten zugelassen sind und über entsprechende Regularien wie eigene Ausführungsgrundsätze zur Ausführung von Aufträgen in Finanzinstrumente mit professionellen Kunden („Best Execution Policy“) verfügen.

Darüber hinaus wird das Bestehen aktueller Ausführungsgrundsätze im Rahmen der laufenden Geeignetheitsprüfung der Dienstleister in der Rolle der Portfoliomanager regelmäßig überprüft.

(2)          Darüber hinaus übt die FTL für bestimmte AIF die Rolle des Portfoliomanagements selbst aus. Bei diesen AIF handelt es sich um Fonds, die nahezu ausschließlich in Private Equity-, Real Estate- bzw. Hedge Fund-Zielfonds investieren. Diese Zielfonds werden grundsätzlich nicht über die Börse gehandelt, sondern nur zu einem unbekannten Preis geordert (nächster NAV) bzw. über Zeichnungsverpflichtungen erworben. Vergleichspreise an verschiedenen Handelsplätzen existieren insofern nicht.

3             Die FTL in der Rolle des Portfoliomanagers

Für bestimmte AIF übt die FTL als zugelassener AIFM die Rolle des Portfoliomanagers aus. Wie zuvor erwähnt, handelt es sich bei den AIF um Fonds, die in Private Equity-, Real Estate- bzw. Hedge Fund-Zielfonds investieren. Diese Zielfonds werden grundsätzlich nicht über die Börse gehandelt, sondern nur zu einem unbekannten Preis geordert (nächster NAV) bzw. über Zeichnungsverpflichtungen erworben. Vergleichspreise an verschiedenen Handelsplätzen existieren insofern nicht.

Die Investitionsentscheidungen für Private Equity- und Real Estate-Zielfonds werden vielmehr im Rahmen eines umfangreichen Due Diligence-Prozesses getroffen, der sich regelmäßig über mehrere Wochen oder Monate erstreckt. Hierbei werden die wesentlichen wirtschaftlichen, aufsichtsrechtlichen, steuerrechtlichen und vertragsrechtlichen Gegebenheiten bzw. Dokumente gemeinsam mit externen Partnern, wie Steuerberater, Wirtschaftsprüfer, Rechtsanwälte, etc. geprüft. In Vertragsverhandlungen werden am Ende der Prozesskette z.T. Individualabsprachen getroffen, die z.B. in Zeichnungsdokumenten, Limited Partnership Agreements und/oder Side Letters ihren Niederschlag finden.

Die Investitionsentscheidungen für die einzelnen Ziel-Hedgefonds trifft die FTL nach Abschluss eines umfangreichen Due Diligence-Prozesses. Dieser erstreckt sich für jeden Zielfonds über mehrere Wochen oder Monate. Die relevanten Ziel-Hedgefonds sind i.d.R. sogenannte Offshore-Fonds. Häufig handelt es sich um Feeder-Fonds auf den Cayman Islands, welche wiederum in dort ansässige Master-Fonds investieren. In diesen Master-Fonds legen u.a. auch institutionelle US-Investoren ihr Kapital an.

Aufgrund der Breite des Anlageuniversums greift die FTL auf die Unterstützung externer Dienstleister zurück. Im Investitionsprozess werden die wesentlichen anlagestrategischen, wirtschaftlichen, aufsichtsrechtlichen, vertragsrechtlichen und ggf. steuerrechtlichen Gegebenheiten und Dokumente von externen Partnern geprüft, insbesondere vom Anlageberater, von der Verwahrstelle des AIF und erforderlichenfalls auch von Steuerberatern oder Rechtsanwälten.

Eine Best Execution Policy im klassischen Sinne geregelter Handelsmärkte ist für diese Art von Investments nicht anwendbar.

 

4             Schlußbestimmungen

Die vorliegende Best Execution Policy der FTL ist regelmäßig zu überprüfen und insbesondere bei Änderungen der in Abschnitt 2 und 3 dargestellten Basissachverhalte entsprechend anzupassen. Im Rahmen der Auslagerungskontrolle (Abschnitt 2 (1)) wird das Vorhandensein einer aktuellen Best Execution Policy bei den relevanten Dienstleistern überwacht.

FERI Trust (Luxembourg) S.A.

flagge_luxemburg.jpg

Unser Office in Luxemburg

18, Boulevard de la Foire
L-1528 Luxembourg

Telefon: +352 270448-0
Fax: +352 270448-729
E-Mail: info@feri.lu

Haben Sie eine Frage?

Kontaktformular

So finden Sie uns:

Wegbeschreibung

weitere feri-sites

FERI AG
Unsere Muttergesellschaft in Deutschland.

FEREAL AG
Unsere Schwestergesellschaft in Deutschland.

FERI (Schweiz) AG
Unsere Schwestergesellschaft in der Schweiz.

FERI Cognitive Finance Institute
“Think Tank“ der FERI-Gruppe für strategische Themen und Einschätzungen für Investoren.